Mid Mod Dresser Make Over

In the market for a mid modern dresser.....

I am falling in love with the mid modern furniture due to it’s simple design and yet classic touch.

The above dresser is really pretty, but I am kinda wanting a lower sitting dresser with six drawers. I think it would look awesome in our bedroom and would go great with the turquoise and orange theme I am trying to go for. I was thinking a nice large lamp and a few plants would look really nice.

UPDATE Y’ALL!

I found a mid mod dresser at an antique store for $110!!!! Even the lady at the store was surprised by the price. Every where I’ve looked these things are going for a minimum of $160. So to score this one for so cheap was awesome. I will show you the before pics and some of the updates I’ve made to the dresser.

Cute mid mod dresser I scooped up from an antique shop in Denver off   Santa Fe and 8th.

Cute mid mod dresser I scooped up from an antique shop in Denver off Santa Fe and 8th.

Okay, Update on the dresser. I decided to put a light teal border around the drawers of the dresser front. I also painted the inside of the drawers and lined them with fabric and Mod Podge. I was looking for liners for drawers at Lowes and was extremely turned off by the few floral patterns I had to choose from. I searched for some ideas for liner ideas and came up with a tutorial on using Mod Podge that I bought for about $9 at Hobby Lobby and a yard of fabric for about $4. I then measured the inside of the drawers and cut the fabric to size and put a coating of Mod Podge on the back of the fabric using a paint brush. Then I sealed the fabric in the drawer using more Mod Podge. Then I painted the sides of the drawers using some paint samples from Lowes that cost about $3 each. I now use my cute dresser for shirts and under garments.
March 28 2013 025March 28 2013 021
March 28 2013 023March 28 2013 024

Leave a Reply

