Blog genesis of Samantha Monell.

I feel pretty amateur at blog writing as I have never done it before. I think it’s wonderful that people have found blogging as a way to reach out to others with similar interests. I have decided to start a blog for several reasons. I think it will be beneficial to be able to connect with others who have wisdom and expertise when it comes to technique and the ability to think outside the box.  I also feel it will help me to dig deeper into my hunger and enthusiasm for crafty things. I think a blog will be a great way to share with others what I have learned and for myself to be able to look back and see my progress.

My husband and I bought a house in August of 2012, and we finally spent money on buying some new couches for the house, which was hard for us to do since we were used to living like college kids and penny pinching. It wasn’t until recently that I had the dilemma of trying to spiff up the house on a dime. I’ve been reading into many blogs of furniture restoration and creative ways to transform thrifty finds into beautiful home decor.

Recently I have taken on a $15 dollar chair from Savers. This one is super cute, but as I have discovered the detailed spindles on the arm rest and the legs are a pain to sand down. I have invested in a dremel to hopefully alleviate some intense sanding. The chair had no cushions when I purchased it, so I made a bottom and top cushion. My back cushion is made of a canvas fabric I bought a Joanns during a sale. The bottom cushion is also made from fabric I bought at Joanns. The cushions alone were a challenge. I have literally not used a sewing machine since I took Home Economics in junior high school. With the consultation of a book borrowed from the public library I was able to create an envelope cover for a pillow I bought also at Savers for about $2. I bought a box cushion from Savers as well for $2 but the cover failed the first time around. It was suppose to have a zipper, but I scratched that idea and just created a box cushion with out a zipper and stuffed it with the filling from the Savers cushion and a bit of filler from Joanns. The sanding is coming along but I still have the legs to go. I will be pre conditioning the wood, then staining it Espresso, and finally sealing it with polyurethane.

Total Spent on Chair: $60

$15 for Chair

$5 for cushions

$20 for fabric

~$20 for staining, brushes,sand paper

This project was a bit pricey since I had to buy the fabric and stain and start up supplies, but when you compare it to the $350 chair I wanted at our local furniture store it was worth every penny. Plus, I feel like I’m learning a lot. I think I might be  a chip off the ol’ block since I can remember several instances growing up that my parents were spiffing up worn out furniture and putting it to use.

Thanks for reading if you did. Hopefully I will learn the trade of blogging as I go through my adventure.

Chair found at Savers. I am currently sitting in it as I blog this post.

Chair found at Savers. I am currently sitting in it as I blog this post.

Leave a Reply

